Today is the start of early voting for various municipal elections, including the College of the Mainland trustee election. Voters within Galveston County can cast a ballot at any of the early voting locations throughout the county, including the COM Conference Center and the north county learning center in League City.

Early voting hours at the two COM locations are today through Friday, April 26 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and on Monday, April 29 and Tuesday, April 30 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The election is set for Saturday, May 4 with the polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The only contested race for the COM Board of Trustees is in Position 4. COM student Eddie Munoz, 22, of Bacliff, is running against Dickinson realtor Dawn King, 56. The position is currently held by Rosalie Kettler, who chose not to run for re-election.

Munoz serves as president of the COM Student Government Association while King and Bill McGarvey served as the co-chairs of the community advisory committee that supported the November bond referendum.

The other two positions open on the board are not being contested.

Verna Jean Henson, Ph. D., 72, who is retired, is running unopposed for Position 1. She will replace long-time Trustee Bennie Matthews.

McGarvey, Ph. D., 65, is uncontested for the at-large Position 6 seat currently held by Rachel Delgado, who also chose not to run for re-election.

Registered voters within the COM Taxing District of Dickinson, Hitchcock, Santa Fe and Texas City school districts can cast ballots for the at-large Positon 6 seat. Only voters that reside within District 1 and 4, respectively, are eligible to vote in those races.

For more information, go to