Scholarship recipient Liliana Gomez, right, shared at the COM Foundation gala about how the scholarship is helping her reach her goals of advancing in the health care field.From left, Mary Ann Amelang, executive director of COM Foundation and Vice President for Institutional Advancement, with UTMB President David L. Callender, M.D., and his wife, Tonya.From left, COM board of trustees member Alan Waters, COM board of trustees chair Wayne Miles, Becky Miles and Yolanda Waters.

To fund students’ educations, futures and dreams, the College of the Mainland Foundation Bridge to the Future Gala raised more than $95,000 for COM Foundation scholarships.

COM Foundation provides more than 100 scholarships each year for tuition and books for students.

“Without the Duncanson EMS scholarship, I wouldn’t have been able to continue my education. I had a low income, bills to pay and tuition on top of that,” said gala speaker Liliana Gomez, a COM emergency medical technician student. “I’ve always encouraged my two sisters and five brothers to continue going to school. This scholarship shows them there are no obstacles to them coming to school.”

All gala funds raised after costs will fund scholarships for students attending summer classes and other student needs.

“Many students are one dead car battery away from having to drop out of college,” said President Beth Lewis. “COM Foundation helps them reach their goals.”

The event honored President David L. Callender, M.D., and the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB Health) for championing the future of Galveston County through education, research, health care and economic development. 

Callender, a head and neck surgeon with expertise in head and neck cancers, has served as president of UTMB Health since 2007. During his tenure, UTMB Health has grown in enrollment, employment and facilities to meet the region’s evolving health care needs.

The gala had a total of 50 underwriters and six co-chairs. The Bridge to the Future underwriter was The Trevino Group. The Bridge to Success underwriter was Amoco Federal Credit Union. 

Bridge to Prosperity underwriters included Texas First Bank; Bracewell & Giuliani Law Firm; Marathon Petroleum; Rachel and Jason Delgado; Dunn Heat Exchangers; Joe Tramonte Realty Inc.; A&A Machine & Fabrication LLC; Moody National Bank; Classic Auto Group Galveston. 

Bridge to Achievement underwriters included South Land Title LLC; Oiltanking Texas City; Safety Council of Texas City; Whitley Penn; IBI Group Architects; Linda and Ralph Holm; Michelle and Clen Burton; Linda and Ivan Langford; Patricia and Roney McCrary; Rosalie and Terry Kettler; HEB; Mary and Kyle Dickson; Becky and Wayne Miles; Kitty and Gary Potter; Mary and Jimmy Cortinas; Dr. Vicki and Richard Stanfield; Mary Ann and Eric Amelang; Dr. Beth Lewis and TJ Aulds; Rose and Charlie King; PointResponse; Centerpoint Energy; Associated Credit Union; Stewart Title; Texas Farm Bureau; Yolanda and Alan Waters; Wilson Architectural Group Inc.; Trey Industries; TNMP; Eastman Chemical; McGriff, Seibels and Williams of Texas Inc.; Bay Group Media; Galveston Symphony Orchestra; Raymond James Financial Services; South Shore Harbour; Murray-Lobb PLLC; Tennille Inc.; Darrel Apffel; Linebarger, Goggan, Blair and Sampson LLP and Mark Perry.

Since 1967 College of the Mainland Foundation, a nonprofit, has been making a difference in the lives of students.

For more information about COM Foundation, visit or call 409-933-8613.