The A-League winning teamThe triumphant Co-Ed 4 team

Twelve teams came to win, but only two emerged victorious.

Recently College of the Mainland (COM) crowned the winners of its Co-Ed 4 and A-League Championship tournaments.

Team Harrison members Larry Smith, Amy Crisp, Brett Harrison and Kinsey Mims beat five other teams to be crowned Co-Ed 4 champions.

Team Holcomb members Ross Nelms, Millie Salmon, Riley Salmon, Melissa Fortier, David Holcomb, Mariela Atkins and Cici Anderson also defeated five teams to be crowned A-League Champions.

The winners were recognized after the tournaments, held May 6.

Offered through the college's Continuing Education Program, the adult volleyball league gives students, employees and community members an opportunity to spike, set and serve in a friendly, competitive environment.

Three leagues are open to teams of varying skill levels; team registration costs for summer range from $150 to $230.

"COM offers a number of community recreational activities, much like softball leagues or church basketball leagues," explained Membership and Community Recreation Coordinator Michael Richardson. "It's just a great way for family and friends to gather and have fun."

For additional information regarding COM recreational activities, visit