Academic Advising

Create Your Road Map to Success

Advisors can help you select courses to meet your goals, understand core curriculum and access on-campus resources. You also can discover how to drop or add a course as well as how to transition to a university.

Advisors can answer any question regarding your academic career at COM and beyond. We recommend you meet with an advisor for a confidential advising session each semester.

Educational Pathways

  • Academic Transfer Programs

    Academic Advisors:

    Student Last Name Advisor
    A–G Alicia Lyon
    alyon1@com.edu
    409-933-8195
    H–O Angie Tuel
    atuel@com.edu
    409-933-8008
    P–Z Blaine Ganter
    bganter@com.edu
    409-933-8007

    Transfer Degrees:

    • Associates of Arts (AA) with any emphasis
    • Associates of Science (AS) with any emphasis
  • Business Technology Careers

    Academic Advisor:

    Michelle Valdes
    mvaldes1@com.edu
    409-933-8124

    Careers:

    • Drafting
    • Entrepreneurship
    • Accounting Certificates & AAS
    • Management Certificates & AAS
    • Marketing
    • Office
    • Computer Information Systems
    • Networking
    • Graphic Arts
  • Human Services Careers

    Academic Advisor:

    Holly Bankston
    hbankston@com.edu
    409-933-8520

    Careers:

    • Cosmetology Operator
    • Cosmetology Instructor
    • Barber to Cosemetologist
    • Esthetic Specialist
  • Industrial Education Careers

    Academic Advisor:

    Kristen Hatfield
    khatfield550@com.edu
    409-933-8156

    Careers:

    • Process Technology
    • Welding
    • Occupational Safety and Health Technology
  • Nursing Careers & Pre-Nursing

    Academic Advisor:

    Leslie Carroll
    lcarroll4903@com.edu
    409-933-8664

    Careers:

    • Pre-Nursing
    • LVN
    • LVN–RN Transition
    • ADN
  • Allied Health/Public Service Careers

    Academic Advisor:

    Theo Moody
    tmoody@com.edu
    409-933-8684

    Careers:

    • Health Information Management
    • Medical Assistant
    • Pharmacy Tech
    • Criminal Justice AAS
    • Police
    • Emergency Medical Services
    • Fire
    • Emergency Management

Schedule an Appointment with an Academic Advisor

Online Tutoring Service

College of the Mainland has partnered with NetTutor to provide all COM students with access to free, live online tutoring.

Learn more

Wonder How to Register?

Watch the tutorials below.

  1. Student Planning Overview

  2. Preparing for Registration

  3. Registering for Courses

Stay Connected with COM: